Speak to an expert
020 7593 2288

Open 9 - 6 Mon to Thu, 9 - 5:30 Fri & 9 - 1 Sat

La Serenissima: Baroque Music at Hintlesham Hall

England 4 nights Price from £2,196 per person
Departs: 22 Jul 2024
Departs: 22 Jul 2024

View all dates »

The award-winning baroque music ensemble La Serenissima present a unique festival this summer in the elegant surroundings of Hintlesham Hall, which brings together the music and history of England, Vienna and Venice in the early 18th century. This elegant house was rebuilt in the 1570s as the home of the Timperleys, a family of Catholic gentry. A century later, in the shadow of the Glorious Revolution, the widow of a young Henry Timperley, (Susannah, née Sparrow), married the son of an Italian violinist and left Suffolk for London and Vienna. Her new husband, Nicola Matteis the Younger, became an accomplished violinist and composer, who crossed paths with Purcell and Vivaldi during a varied career. We will enjoy three private concerts which trace their fascinating journey, as well as enjoying the landscape of Suffolk which inspired Constable and Gainsborough, whose house we will visit, having recently reopened after redevelopment as a National Centre for Art dedicated to his life and work.


Photo credit: Lia Vittone

What's included

...when you travel with Kirker

  • Four nights’ accommodation with breakfast
  • Four dinners
  • Three concerts
  • All sightseeing, entrance fees and gratuities
  • Services of the Kirker Tour Leader

Departure Dates and Prices

22 Jul 2024

Status Available

Price from£2196

Single Supp.£320

Book Now Enquire

La Serenissima


More Info

Music Programme

Inspired by the career and influences of Nicola Matteis the Younger, La Serenissima will perform a series of concerts following his musical journey from London to Vienna and on to Venice by way of his contemporary Antonio Vivaldi. Highlights will include a number of works by Henry Purcell, as well as John Blow, Giorgio Gentili and of course Nicola Matteis the Younger himself. We will conclude with a full performance of Antonio Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, featuring a 12-instrument ensemble of strings and harpsichord.

Concert 1: Born in London

Henry Purcell (1659-1695): Sonata for 2 violins & continuo
Nicola Matteis the Younger (c1677 – 1737): Sonata for violin & continuo
Henry Purcell: Sonata for harpsichord
Nicola Matteis the Elder (? – after 1713): Sonata for violin & continuo
John Blow (1649-1708): Sonata for 2 violins & continuo

Concert 2: From London to Vienna

John Blow: Chaconne in G
Giorgio Gentili (1671 – 1751): Concerto a 4, Opus 6
Nicola Matteis the Younger: Concerto in B♭
Johann Joseph Fux (c1660 - 1741): Sonata for 3 violins
Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741): Concerto Il Favorito for violin, strings & continuo in E, RV 277, Op 11/2

Concert 3: Matteis & Vivaldi

Antonio Caldara (1670 – 1736): Sinfonia to La Verità nell’Inganno
Nicola Matteis the Younger: Ballo to La Verità nell’Inganno
Antonio Vivaldi: Le Quattro Stagioni - 4 Concertos for violin, strings & continuo in E, g, F & f, RV 269, 315, 293, 297

To make an enquiry please speak to one of our experts on 020 7593 2288, or enquire online

Our expert reservations team regularly travel to a wide range of destinations to explore new cities, visit hotels and to research museums, galleries and restaurants so that we can offer the most up-to-date advice and recommendations.