The Cinque Terre



A UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Cinque Terre is a rugged stretch of coastline comprising the villages of Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore. The area is virtually inaccessible by car and protected from mass tourism. The small, picturesque town of Portovenere is the best base from which to explore the five villages.Although there is a train that heads up the coast from nearby La Spezia (it is often crowded and, in summer, uncomfortably hot), the ferry service from Portovenere allows visitors to experience the beauty of the coastline and disembark at each village along the way.

Speak to an expert - 020 7593 2288

Our expert reservations team regularly travel to a wide range of destinations to explore new cities, visit hotels and to research museums, galleries and restaurants so that we can offer the most up-to-date advice and recommendations.


Join our mailing list to receive the latest updates and travel inspiration.